The Rules

About the Game

The Tabi Tabi Po CCG began as a fun way to teach SioPaoSpawn how to speak Filipino when he was 7 years old. “Tabi Tabi Po” is loosely translated as “Step aside, please” or “Excuse me, please.” The saying is from a local superstition that in order not to offend and anger nature spirits or supernatural creatures in the vicinity, one must utter the words “tabi tabi po” before entering their domain (which may be a forest, an old house, or even your own garden).

The rules of our CCG are based on the card game in the Nintendo DS game Chocobo Tales. The creatures on the cards are based on Philippine folklore and the descriptions of the attacks and spells that each card can cast during the game is written in Filipino...

The Rules


Tabi Tabi Po is a Card Game based upon the “Pop-Up Battle Cards” in the game Chocobo Tales. Similar real life card games are Magic: The Gathering and Pokemon.

Gameplay is turn-based and structured similarly to the combat system used in Chocobo Tales.

Card layout and design is by RandomJan while all illustrations are by SiopaoSpawn.

Baybayin translations were created on


This game is for 2 players. Both players start with 20 Life Points (Buhay) each.

If players are sharing a deck, cards are shuffled and divided equally between the two players.

If players have their own deck, players choose 10, 15 or 20 cards from their own decks to use in the game. (Players must have equal number of cards.)

Shuffle the cards and lay them face down in a pile.

Both players draw the top card and reveal them in the playing area at the same time.

Character Card descriptions are written in Filipino.

Laban means Attack – describes the amount of damage the card with deal.
Ex. LABAN: Magsampa ng 2 pinsala sa buhay ng kalaban
Translates to - ATTACK: Deal 2 damage to the opponents life.

Gayuma means Spells – describes the spells the card can cast. Spells may damage or heal.
Ex. GAYUMA: Pipi (Ang kalaban ay hindi makakagamit ng Gayuma sa susunod na paglusob.)
Translates to - SPELLS: Mute (The opponent will be unable to cast spells on the next attack.)


Each character card is associated with one of five elements: Lupa (Earth) – Brown, Hangin (Air) – Light Blue, Apoy (Fire) - Red, Tubig (Water) - Blue, and Kahoy (Wood) - Green.

Icons with either Arnis Sticks (Attack) or an Anting-Anting (Defense) are indicated on the colors of each element.

Attacks will only work on the element it is associated with. Attacks can be blocked if a Shield is indicated on that element on the opponents card. Attacks are halved if the opponents card also indicates Arnis sticks on the same element. If no Shield or Arnis Sticks are indicated on the receiving element, the opponent loses life points (Buhay) corresponding to the damage described in the card.

Spells can be blocked or nullified if the opponent's Arnis Sticks attack the user on the same element as the Spell.

Anting-Anting Cards give bonuses to the Character Cards. (Will be implemented in the future)


The first player to lose all 20 life points forfeits the game and the remaining player is declared the winner.